Crafts · Frugal Crafts · Grocery Shopping · Saving Money · Thrift Shopping · Uncategorized

Some First Week Photos and Totals

This isn’t my first week of frugal living, but it IS the first week of the blog.  To that end, I thought I’d share some first week information.

Grocery shopping was really light this week.  We had all the meat we needed in the freezer.  Something I have to add at this point:  I cook 3 times a week, but make enough for leftovers.  I’ve found that if I only have to cook every other day, it’s much more likely to get done.  Therefore we have 2 meals {4 days} of meat meals and 1 meal {2 days} of a meatless meal.  Once in a while we have an awesome week where nearly everything we need is already in the house and we don’t have to buy much, and this was one of those weeks.  I almost did a cartwheel.

We’ve started doing most of our shopping at Aldi.  Not only do they have prices that generally cannot be beat, other than by occasional loss leader prices, they also carry fewer products.  This may not seem like a good thing on the surface, but in my opinion it is.  The fewer things there are to tempt me, the fewer things I come home with.  There are things we need/want we can’t get at Aldi, but the majority of things we can, and do, get there.  It saves us money, time AND is better for our health because we are less tempted by a thousand kinds of junk food.

So, as usual Aldi was our biggest grocery stop this week.  We spent $30.68 there.  And that included a small splurge on a trio of nice cheeses that sound delicious.  Our only other stop was at Walmart, and the only food item we needed there was the frozen burritos Hubs eats.  He has either frozen burritos or Hot Pockets every morning after work, and try as I may, I can’t make those burritos any cheaper.  So we spent $3.42 there, for a total of $34.10 on groceries this week.  Our MAXIMUM amount each week for groceries is $125, but we aim to never go over $100.  We were well under this week, and I hope to continue that streak!

Some other money did get spent though.  We were out of ink for the printer, and decided to just go for the two pack.  Partly because they were out of the one pack and partly because it will extend the time before we run out of ink again.  We also had to buy our dandruff shampoo, which is on the pricey side.  So that was some extra spending.  But all in all, not bad!

Yesterday was also Thrift Store Fabric Day.  Here’s my overall haul…

The grand total for all of it was $21.50.  Not too shabby, I’d say.  There’s some flannel, some fleece, a very small piece of corduroy that I will use in something to add texture.  There’s a couple pieces of cotton, perhaps a piece of linen, some velvet and a couple of “I don’t knows” that are probably polyester or polyester blends.

My favorite piece of fabric is this one…

One of the “I don’t knows”.  I’m guessing Polyester.  It feels sort of silky to the touch, and stretches.  I’m not sure what it is, I’m not sure what I want to do with it, I’m not even sure what I CAN do with it.  I have 4 yards of it, and I love it.  There must be SOMETHING I can use it for.  I will ask my sewing guru when I see her on Sunday, I expect she will have some advice.  {Although if anyone reading this has any advice, please do share!}

Here are a couple of frugal projects I have done lately.  The first one is a fabric bookmark with elastic to hold it in place…

I made that one with the remains of a fat quarter I had bought a few years ago.  It’s original purpose was to cover a journal in fabric for a gift.  I hung on the scraps, figuring I’d find something to do with them someday, and eventually I did.  I’ll be making a few more of these for small gifts.  That one is already in the mail, on it’s way to my Mommy in Kansas.

This is the first real project I did on my own.  Measuring, cutting, sewing, stuffing, blind stitching, the whole shebang.

The fabric for this was a navy blue pinstripe remnant from last week’s thrift store haul.  I wasn’t sure if I could make the pillow on my own, so I thought I’d use fabric I wasn’t particularly attached to.  In the end it turned out pretty well, so it will be a gift for my aunt.  She’s the only one that has blue in her house.

And finally, this week’s dinner menu:

Fri & Sat — Chicken & Dumpling Casserole, Steamed Veggies

Sun & Mon — Beef Stew, Tossed Salad

Tues & Wed — Frittata, Sausage, Toast, Fruit

And in closing… a picture of my Beto declaring my laptop bag is his favorite bed today.

One thought on “Some First Week Photos and Totals

Leave a Reply

