Crafts · Easy Crafts · Frugal Crafts

Very Easy Scrap Fabric Craft

It is my humblest of opinions that one of the best ways to craft frugally is to find a way to use the things that would otherwise have ended up in the trash.  {Not to mention it saves it from ending up in a landfill!}  Much like using up food leftovers, which I am also a fan of, it makes me happy to find a way to use up craft leftovers.  In this case, fabric scraps.

I found this 5 minute bookmark tutorial on Pinterest more than a year ago.  You know, before I could even sew.  But I was determined that someday I WOULD sew, and when I did, I would surely make these.  And so it came to pass that I began learning to sew, and I had not forgotten the bookmarks.  They looked very easy, but I have certainly been fooled before by things that LOOK easy and are not.  {Pinterest fails, anyone?}

After having a couple of sewing lessons, I decided to attempt these on my own.  I found a scrap of fabric I had saved from a non-sewing related project a few years ago and set to work.  I did successfully recreate what they had done… except far, far too short.  One more try, and I got the size right… then mailed it off to my mom before taking a photo.  But finally, last night I got the chance to make the one for my sewing guru, and to take a photo of it.  It’s not perfect, but it sho’ is a working bookmark!

Lest anyone think I am the worst sort of criminal, I swear I didn’t steal that book from the library!  I got it at a library book sale, which is a whole other frugal post for another day.  Anyway, the bookmark turned out well and it works.  I’m not sure I will ever cease to be surprised when a craft project works out correctly for me.  I spent many years in some sort of crafting hell, where I saw all sorts of cute and “easy” crafts, and they all went awry.  So I cherish each successfully completed project, imperfect though it may be.

Incidentally, the title of the link to this tutorial is “5 minute bookmark”… it might be 5 minutes for SOMEONE, but that someone isn’t me.  So unless you are a very skilled at sewing, don’t be surprised if it’s more like a 15 minute book mark.  Worth it, though!

Leave a Reply

