Budgeting · Grocery Shopping

Thursday Report!

As Thursday always is, it was grocery shopping day for us.  I’m trying to enact a policy of spending money *only* on Thursdays, which makes for a longer Thursday but a less expensive week.  I had to meet with my contact for a diabetes program through Hub’s job today, with shopping to do on top of it.

Thursdays are also our restaurant meal for the week.  We eat lunch before hitting the stores.  Today I had a 25% of coupon for the restaurant, so we walked outta there for the price of fast food.  Verizon gives reward points to customers and I primarily use ours to print out two-for-one or percent off discount vouchers to restaurants for our Thursday lunches.  It keeps nicely in line with my philosophy of never paying full price.  Obviously there are things I do have to pay full price for, but lunch isn’t one of them.

After lunch and the diabetes appointment, we started the list of stores to hit.  I was in serious need of a new pair of jeans, so I decided to stop in at a consignment store this afternoon, since we were driving by it.  I found a pair of jeans that look brand new and walked out with them for $10.  It seems inconceivable to me that I used to walk into department stores, take things off racks, and buy them.  {I will, however, claim an advantage in this situation.  There are a number of consignment and thrift stores near me that increase my odds of finding what I need at reasonable prices.  I know for a lot of people, that is simply not an option.}

Next was the string of grocery store stops.  Most of the time we stop at 2, perhaps 3, stores.  Today it was 5.  In a lot of cases that wouldn’t save any money, due to the gas spent driving from store to store.  However, retail developers in the area were clearly thinking with me in mind when they put all 5 stores within a few minutes of one another, in a logical progression.  We stopped at Giant Eagle for 2 free items, at big box store for large trash bags and at Fresh Thyme for blueberries.  Everything else was 2/3 Aldi an 1/3 Meijer.

My grand total at all 5 stores was $96.53.  Technically my weekly budget is $100, but I like to stay closer to $85.  Still, I came in underbudget, and part of this week’s total was a few spare cans of chicken.  We keep canned chicken around for emergency meals.  I can always whip something up from the pantry if I have a can of chicken.  We had depleted our stash and needed to stock up again, so that pushed my bill higher than I would have liked.

Here’s the photo with items from all 5 stores.

grocerytrip

I sure was glad when the marathon grocery shopping session was over.  It rarely works out that we have to hit all 5 stores, but it sure makes a day of it when we do!

Our dinner menu for the week…

Fri – Pork roast with apples and carrots, roasted potatoes, garden salad
Sat – Creamy pork with egg noodles, steamed veggies
Sun – The remains of the pork roast warmed with bbq sauce, mac’n’cheese, green beans
Mon – Chicken Parmesan, salad
Tues – Baked chicken, mashed potatoes, steamed veggies
Wed – Irish potato soup, garden salad

I loosely plan breakfasts and lunches.  Breakfasts are oatmeal, eggs, toast, fruit, etc.  Lunch is quite often soups and sandwiches, hot dogs or breakfast foods.  I’m trying this week to be more thoughtful about snacks.  It seems to be feast or famine for me.  Either I buy several snacks and have quite a few on hand that I want to eat… and eat too much of… or I don’t have anything and wish I had something.  I picked up a quart of vanilla Greek yogurt, some fresh fruit, some cottage cheese, string cheese, nuts and I am planning to make some homemade granola-bar-style snacks as well.

And that’s all she wrote for tonight folks.  I slept terribly last night and it’s time to hit the pillow!

Leave a Reply

