Budgeting · Grocery Shopping · Saving Money

This Week’s Grocery Trip and Menu

This week was a pretty light one, as far as grocery shopping weeks go.  I was inspired by some of the food already in the house, therefore less inclined to buy food in the store.  That’s always good for the wallet!

The numbers for the week were:
Aldi – $28.52
Big Box Store – $26.66
Fresh Thyme – $12.33
Giant Eagle – Free soup with E-Advantage

Four stores hit this week for a grand total of $67.51, which brings me in $32.49 under budget.  However, I did forget to buy some tortilla shells for bean tacos later in the week and will have Hubs pick some up, so that will add a couple dollars to the total.  Still, the week’s total will be right around $70 and I will be right around $30 under budget.  Not too shabby!

Here’s the photo for the week.

20160128_184047.jpg

Included in the pic is toothpaste, toothbrushes and conditioner.  I’ve hemmed and hawed back and forth about whether or not to include toiletries in the grocery budget but in the end I decided to throw the basic stuff in.  I buy very little in the way of makeup, but when I do need something, I will take that out of my own spending money.  However for the basic things like shampoo, conditioner, soaps/body washes, toothpaste, etc, I will just lump it into the grocery budget to keep things simple.

A little over $14 was spent on some miscellaneous items we needed.  I needed a new plastic tub to store fabric in my room, and a couple of other small things.  That money will come out of the miscellaneous money we figure into our budget each month.  I used to insist there would be nothing miscellaneous and we didn’t need to budget for that.  I have since learned I was very wrong, and account for it.  There will ALWAYS be the little things.

The menu this week:

Breakfasts are the usual oatmeal with peanut butter, cottage cheese with fruit or eggs with toast options

Lunches are mostly soups with sandwiches, hot dogs on buns with veggies and hummus or eggs with toast

Dinners –

Friday –  Baked chicken, macaroni and cheese, green beans

Saturday – Slow Cooker Thai Chicken With Peanut Sauce, brown rice, steamed stir fry veggies

Sunday – Black beans cooked with Taco seasoning, eaten on a salad for me and in taco shells for Hubs.

Monday – Black beans and rice, cooked with mushrooms and corn, steamed spinach

Tuesday – Ham casserole, steamed veggies

Wednesday – Ham casserole, steamed veggies

I’m not doing too much of serving leftovers the exact same way two days in a row, except for the ham casserole.  Mainly I am doing that because both of us love it and will be happy as clams to eat it two days in a row.  Someday I will get around to posting that recipe.  It was my mother-in-law’s and a long time favorite of Hub’s, and a favorite of mine for almost 20 years now.

And that’s the summary and plan for the week.  I’m feeling good about this one, well planned out and I don’t see anything on the horizon to derail me.  Fingers crossed!

3 thoughts on “This Week’s Grocery Trip and Menu

Leave a Reply

