Budgeting · Frugal Cooking · Grocery Shopping · Saving Money

So Much Happy News, Grocery Shopping Updates, and Menu Plans

Okay, so I’m going to put these three in order of the way they happened:

  1.  My dear friend Andrea over at A Measured Life reblogged my Doggy Bag, Please blog from a few days ago.  Shout out to her for the share, and a big wave and warm welcome to anyone from AML who may have wandered over!
  2. Yesterday Aldi was busy, as they pretty much always are.  There was a lady who stepped up in line behind us with only a pack of gum.  I told her to please go ahead of us.  She thanked me profusely and said she was running late to pick up grandkids for karate.  I assured her it was no problem and went back to staring off into space.  Suddenly she taps my arm, as she’s still waiting behind the person in front of her, and says “This is going to sound weird, but the first time I was in here a few weeks ago, I didn’t know Aldi was cash only.  The lady in line behind me paid for my groceries, and told me to pass it on to someone else.  So here, please take this.” and handed me a $10.  I was completely shocked, and very very grateful.  This time it was me thanking her profusely.
  3. This one, all hyperbole aside, is a dream come true for me.  My bestie, BJ, is the editor of a small town paper in North Dakota.  I’ve always dreamed of being a writer but wrote it off as a pipe dream, more than a dream to chase.  But today she told me she’s going to start running a column from me, called Cat’s Corner, in the Mouse River Journal.  It’s a small paper, but as far as I am concerned it might as well be the the New York Times!  It’s going to be about frugal living, with a lot of it pulled from this blog.  I can’t say more than I am just pleased as punch right now!

Okay, and now back to normal business.  Yesterday’s grocery shopping was not a big trip.  We’ve had a couple of good weeks pulling stuff from the pantry, fridge and freezer for lunches and dinners.  Particularly since I forgot Hubs birthday dinner was in there for last week , and we were able to make the meal with taco beans stretch three days.  That left a meal to carry over into this week, so one less to plan and buy for.  Here are the totals.

Fresh Thyme – $6.33
Meijer – $19.20
Aldi – $24.77
Total – $50.30

This total will go up by about $5-$7.  We needed a couple things from Giant Eagle that Hubs forgot to pick up today.  We will still finish shopping comfortably under $60 for the week, though.  Here’s a photo of our grocery loot, minus the stuff that still needs to be bought at Giant Eagle.

20160204_182404.jpg

For the menu, there has been an adjustment already.  I had planned to cook today, but after finding out about the column, we decided to take the last of our gift card and go out.  That ended up costing us $1.18.  I think that’s some frugal celebrating!  So here’s the adjusted plan for the week.

Fri – Lunch Out
Fri – Dinner – Bratwurst on rolls, veggies and hummus

Saturday – Lunch – Soup, sandwich
Saturday – Dinner – Chicken and veggie stir fry, brown rice

Sunday – Lunch – Bratwurst on rolls, veggies and hummus
Sunday – Dinner – Ham Casserole, Steamed Veggies

Monday – Lunch – Ham Casserole, Green Beans
Monday – Dinner – BBQ Chicken Sandwich, Sweet potato fries, salad

Tuesday Lunch – Fish fillets on rolls, veggies with hummus
Tuesday Dinner – Pork chops sauteed with spinach, peppers and mushrooms, mozzarella melted on top.  Roasted potatoes and steamed veggies.

Wednesday lunch – Soup and sandwich
Wednesday Dinner – Pork Chops, mashed potatoes w/gravy, steamed veggies

Breakfasts will be the usual oatmeal with pb, toast with pb or eggs, granola bars with fruit and cheese sticks or cottage cheese and fruit.

What’s up for everyone else for dinner for the next week?  Any new recipes?  Any quick ideas for lunch?

 

 

Leave a Reply

