Budgeting · Grocery Shopping · Saving Money · Unexpected Expenses

Very Light Grocery Week, and Menu Plan

As I mentioned in this blog post from a few days ago, we are trying to cut some out of the budget where we can this month, to make up for the cost of new glasses for Hubs and me. One of the easiest places to trim some would be from our grocery budget.  I mean, we HAVE food.  We will not run out of things to eat.  So for the rest of February, we need to plan meals from the pantry and freezer as much as possible.  There are other areas we are trying to cut as well, but I feel like trimming the grocery budget will make the biggest impact.

To that end, our grocery shopping trip this week was very light.  We spent:

$7.61 at Walmart
$10.93 at Aldi
$2.89 at Meijer
$9.40 at Fresh Thyme

For a grand total of $30.83.  I honestly can’t believe we got our groceries for the week for less than $31.  I grant that there will probably be one or two things that have to be picked up during the week, but even so we will come out under $40.  And our budget it $100/wk.  So that’s definitely gonna help offset some of the cost of the glasses!

Here’s the photo of our haul…

20160211_184139.jpg

The part I’m most excited about is the New York Strips from Fresh Thyme, but that’s another post for another day.  Everything else was just ordinary stuff.  Now that I look at the photo, the bag of chips is featured awfully prominently, but the rest of the stuff was mostly healthy.  Sometimes a person just needs a potato chip!

The Menu for the week:

Friday Lunch – Hot Dogs, Carrots w/Hummus
Friday Dinner – Grilled chicken with spinach and mushrooms served over rice

Saturday Lunch – Soup, sandwiches
Saturday Dinner – Pancakes, eggs, sausage

Sunday Lunch – Hot dogs, carrots w/hummus
Sunday Dinner – Valentine’s Day dinner.  I’ll elaborate in another post.

Monday Lunch – Chili cheese baked potato
Monday Dinner – Chicken Helper, steamed veggies

Tuesday Lunch – Homemade pizza
Tuesday Dinner – Pork chops, macaroni and cheese, steamed veggies

Wednesday Lunch – Soup, sandwiches
Wednesday Dinner – Pork chops with eggs and biscuits, steamed veggies

I’m looking at this menu and realizing I need to work some more veggies into it.  I have some salad mix I’ll have at some point, to up the veggie quotient.  I have fruits to go with breakfast and for snacks.  Other breakfast stuff is toast with PB and oatmeal with PB.

I don’t see anything coming up that might result in a trip to the grocery store, other than Hubs ice cream runs.  There will probably be one or two of those.  Otherwise, I think we’re set for the week and will squeak by with less than half our normal budget.

How do you cut corners when the need arises?  What category is easiest to tighten up the belt on?  Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Very Light Grocery Week, and Menu Plan

  1. I would like to see a comparison of plan to reality. I’m not good at making food plans and reality match.

    For this frugal period, I think it would be interesting to see what you can do with the weirdest or hardest to use items that you have.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

