Uncategorized

Simple, Frugal Pleasures

Simplepleasures
Image Location

Sometimes it’s easy to become restless and disappointed with life when the big things aren’t happening, and many times frugal living puts a stop to those “big things”.  No more buying new big screen televisions or leasing new cars you can barely afford.  While those things may have seemed like fun, they were pushing you further away from your goals.  That new car was driving in reverse.

When you’re new to frugal living… or if you’re starting to feel burnt out… it’s always good to take a step back and look at the simple things that make life pleasant.  Maybe you do them and aren’t grateful, or maybe you don’t do them and should start.  Here a few of my small joys:

  • A good, old fashioned hug and kiss.  It doesn’t need to be a make out session.  Just a big, warm hug and smooch reminds me that I’m loved.  Obviously this is not applicable if you are single, but if you have a spouse or partner, take advantage of it and steal some lovin’.
  • A cup of tea or coffee on the patio in the mornings.  I admit, I am not generally a morning person.  I am trying to become a morning person because I like the productive things I get done when I wake up early, but I’m pretty bad at it.  One of the best things about waking up early is going outside {when the weather is nice!} and sitting on the patio to sip a mug of tea or coffee and enjoying the fresh air first thing in the morning.
  • Taking random photos with my beloved camera.  I love to take photos.  I’m not especially talented at it, but I love to try.  I take photos of all sorts of things.  For example, here is a photo of my snake plant I took yesterday…
    IMG_1682I find that very often, the same boring things look much more interesting through the lens of a camera.
  • Going to parks.  Parks are free and awesome.  When the weather is nice, Hubs and I love to go to parks and walk around {not sure you can really call it hiking at our local parks}, take food for picnics, and, related to the above, take photos.  When the weather is nice on his days off, we often go to parks we haven’t been to, or that we don’t go to often.
  • Make simple, frugal crafts.  Much like my photography, I’m not an especially skilled crafter either.  But I do enjoy crafting, and the sense of accomplishment when something turns out well is awesome.  Here and here are a couple of my successful projects.
  • Reading.  Reading is a perennial favorite for me.  I read all sorts of different stuff, but I’m always reading something.  Right now I’m reading a frugal living blog and a book from the library on healthy eating.  A small caveat to books is that if they aren’t from the library, they can get expensive.
  • Conversation.  As anyone that knows me will attest, I love to talk.  I prefer good conversation over almost anything.  Hubs and I talk and talk.  Even after nearly 21 years as a couple, we still haven’t run out of things to say.  And I talk to my best friends online everyday, for hours most days.  {That’s also partly why I write this blog, dear readers… so I have another excuse to talk!}
  • Playing with/snuggling with my pup and kitty…

    They are my babies.  If I’m feeling lousy, snuggling with Ginger or giving Beto head scritches makes me feel better, without fail.  And even when I’m feeling fine, it’s just plain soothing to the soul to interact with them.

As you can see, there are quite a few things I do, for free, that bring me simple joy.  Life doesn’t have to be about the big things.  I’ve learned to appreciate the gentle rhythm of the ordinary days, which makes them pretty darn extraordinary.

What kinds of things do you do to get simple pleasures in your life?

Leave a Reply

